Very Veggie Chili (with spice!)

Image

Ah, finally! John and I have been making this chili probably every weekend since we decided to begin eating vegan. There’s something very comforting about a nice big bowl of piping hot chili, and we’ve actually done quite a good job in repurposing it to keep it exciting (although, I am pretty boring, and I could most likely just keep eating it exactly the way it is!). We usually toss in spices from our cupboard until we reach the flavor that we were looking for, but the problem with that was that I couldn’t share it with anyone since I wasn’t positive of the exact measurements.

John wrote down the amounts of everything he plopped into the pot last weekend, but he wasn’t content with the flavor, and he instructed me not to share the recipe until it was perfect, ha! I made it again this week with all of the spices/measurements listed, and we both agreed it turned out quite yummy in our tummies. My favorite way to serve this is with the chili served inside of a roasted sweet potato along with crumbled tortilla chips on top. We have also made chili nachos, chili fries, chili “dogs”, and chili burgers with the left overs. If you happen to come up with any other spiffy dishes using chili please share!

Very Veggie Chili

Yields: 4-6 servings depending on how hungry you are! This nearly fills my 3 1/2 qt pot

Ingredients:

1 onion
1 green bell pepper
1 red bell pepper
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp ancho chili powder
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 tbsp cumin
1 tsp roasted cumin (or more cumin if you don’t have roasted)
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
sprinkling of salt (to taste)
2 15.5 oz cans of Black Beans
1 15.5 oz can Navy Beans
1 15.5 oz Can Kidney Beans
1 15.5 oz Can of whole kernel corn
1 28 oz Can of chunky tomato sauce

Directions:

1.) Chop your veggies to desired size; I usually mince the onion because John is not a fan of large pieces of onion, but I chop the peppers into large rustic-styled chunks.
2.) On medium-high heat sauté the onion in a splash of water or low-sodium veggie broth until translucent (a couple of minutes). Add in the peppers, and allow them to cook for a couple more minutes.
3.) Add the chunky tomato sauce along with all of the beans, and corn. Now you can toss in all of your spices then give it all a nice big stir. Bring the mixture to a boil, stir everything again to ensure it doesn’t stick to the bottom, turn the heat down to simmer, and cover for at least 20 minutes to allow all of the flavors to meld together. The longer this sits the better it will be!

Notes: I always look for reduced sodium or no-salt added cans when I am feeling too lazy to cook all the beans myself. There is a bit of spice in this chili therefore, feel free to adjust the measurements to your preferred taste. The ancho and chipotle chile powders are the culprits for creating the heat in this chile, and if that isn’t your thing go ahead and leave them out. You might want to add a little more of the plain ‘ol chile powder if you decide to do so 🙂

I also made a few desserts over the weekend, but I only snapped quick iPhone pics of two of them. On Friday I attempted black bean brownie bites that looked gorgeous, tasted pretty good, but were a bit mushy on the inside.

My buddy and I also worked on some strawberry cupcakes together. Again, they tasted all right, but they just didn’t seem to have that special something about them. The frosting also reminded me of acid-wash jeans… if they came in pink!

581892_10200730427411228_535517711_n

487768_10200721745234179_736419081_n

This weekend is going to be a busy one… it’s John’s birthday weekend, and I am going to make an entire vegan feast along with Hummingbird Cake!

Leave a Reply

